UAPA- Tool To Shut Dissent in India

  The death of Stan Swamy, the Jesuit priest and activist, India’s oldest political prisoner who died in jail, waiting for bail for nine months, at the age of 84 has brought the spotlight back on the Unlawful Activity Prevention Act (UAPA), the primarily counter-terror Law in India.  The Unlawful Activities Prevention Act (UAPA) 1967 is the  primary counter-law in India. The terror law has come under sharp scrutiny recently with various courts finding application of the UAPA (arbitrary). About The Unlawful Activities Prevention Act (UAPA)  Passed in 1967, the law aims at effective prevention of Unlawful activities in India. The ACT assigns absolute power to the central government, by way of which if the Centre (deems) an activity as unlawful then it may by way of an official Gazette, declare it so.  It has death penalty and life imprisonment as highest punishments. Under UAPA, both India and foreign nationals can be charged. It will be applicable to the offenders in the same manner, ev

Modi - 3.0

In a major restructurePrime Minister Narendra Modi on Wednesday brought in 36 new faces to his Union Cabinet and promoted seven existing ministers. Meanwhile, 12 top ministers have been dropped from the Cabinet. As many as 43 leaders including Jyotiraditya Scindia, Narayan Rane and Sarbananda Sonowal Wednesday took oath as part of the Cabinet expansion of the Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led government. Fifteen Cabinet ministers, including some new faces, were sworn in at the swearing-in ceremony held in the Darbar Hall of the Rashtrapati Bhawan. While 13 members took oath in Hindi, two took in English.
Amongst those who took oath included Ajay Bhatt, Bhupender Yadav, Shobha Karandlaje, Sunita Duggal, Meenakshi Lekhi, Bharati Pawar, Shantanu Thakur, LJP’s Pashupati Paras, and Apna Dal’s Anupriya Patel.

The political prospects of the Bjp in states where Assembly elections are scheduled next year,seem to have weighed heavily as Prime Minister Narendra Modi undertook a massive makeover and expansion of his Council of Ministers.

Seven new ministers — more than one-fifth of the addition of total 36 to the Council of Ministers — are from Uttar Pradesh, taking the total representation from the state to 16. UP goes to polls in early 2022 or less than eight months from now. It is critical for the party in the national elections too given that it brings the biggest chunk of 80 seats or almost 15 per cent to the 543-member strong Lok Sabha.  

Of the 12 ministers who resigned ahead of the reshuffle, the one that caught the eye was the exit of Union Health Minister Dr Harsh Vardhan. His departure is one of the strongest signals on the handling of the ferocious second Covid-19 wave — to the government’s detractors, it is an admission of its failure; and to its supporters, a much-needed course correction to reassure the country.

On March 7, Harsh Vardhan announced that it was the “endgame” of the pandemic in India. But cases started to mount in the last week of March and in the run-up to the April crisis over supply of medical oxygen, his role as Health Minister had diminished. 

The NDA government has nearly doubled the number of women ministers since the first term. The strength has moved from six in the previous term to 11 – the highest number of women ministers in the Union government since 2004.

Both terms of the Manmohan Singh-led governments had 10 women ministers each. As many as seven new women ministers were inducted in the government on Wednesday, apart from existing Cabinet ministers Nirmala Sitaraman and Smriti Irani, and Ministers of State Sadhavi Niranjan Jyoti and Renuka Singh

Full list of Cabinet Ministers:

1. Narayan Tatu Rane: Minister of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises

2. Sarbananda Sonowal: Minister of Ports, Shipping and Waterways; and Minister of AYUSH

3. Dr. Virendra Kumar: Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment

4. Jyotiraditya M Scindia: Minister of Civil Aviation

5. Ramchandra Prasad Singh: Minister of Steel

6. Ashwini Vaishnaw: Minister of Railways; Minister of Communications; and Minister of Electronics and Information Technology 

7. Pashupati Kumar Paras: Minister of Food Processing Industries

8. Kiren Rijiju: Minister of Law and Justice

9. Raj Kumar Singh: Minister of Power; and Minister of New and Renewable Energy

10. Hardeep Singh Puri: Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas; and Minister of Housing and Urban Affairs

11. Mansukh Mandaviya: Minister of Health and Family Welfare; and Minister of Chemicals and Fertilizers

12. Bhupender Yadav: Minister of Environment, Forest and Climate Change; and Minister of Labour and Employment

13. Parshottam Rupala: Minister of Fisheries, Animal Husbandry and Dairying

14. G. Kishan Reddy: Minister of Culture; Minister of Tourism; and Minister of Development of North Eastern

15. Anurag Singh Thakur: Minister of Information and Broadcasting; and Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports



Cinematograph(amendment)bill 2021: Step towards protection of people or Control over them?

Delhi's Federalism Under Control

UAPA- Tool To Shut Dissent in India

Petrol Price Hike : Horrors of the Past Return